Tearjerker Tuesday: Safe Haven

 

Safe Haven tells the story of Katie who while running from her past falls in love with small-town Alex and his two children. As she tries to start her life over, she must keep her secret while also trying not to hurt the man she fell for.

When you go into a Nicholas Sparks movie you can guarantee a pretty dramatic plotline with some kind of forbidden live involving two outrageously hot (probably white) people. This is no exception. I’m not going to lie, The Notebook is the only Nicholas Sparks book adaptation I have ever liked, but I actually enjoyed this one for the most part. Until the second half where everything pretty much went to shit.

I really don’t think Julianne Hough isn’t a terrible actress (she’s obviously a much better dancer, but still), even if she is so ridiculously good looking that its impossible that she just blended in anywhere. Which might explain why a man falls completely in love with her in like a day and half. He gets over that dead wife thing pretty quick once she goes to the beach with him one time.

The first half of the film isn’t horrible and the first twist is actually a good one I didn’t really see coming. Then we get the train wreck ending that just completely ruins the entire story. I won’t spoil it, but I assure you, it is dumb. It’s mind-numbingly dumb. The only thing stupider than the reveal is Julianne Hough’s character, Katie’s, reaction to the reveal (which for the reaction is just looking around in shock for a while). I honestly would argue that the best part of the film is the town of Southport, North Carolina. Scenically it looks so beautiful and provides some really great shots. And you know it can’t be good if my favorite part of your film is the small town its set in. Still Southport, you are gorgeous, congrats.

Also, this is nitpicking but I could not tell for the life of me if Colbie Smulders (aka Robin from How I Met Your Mother) is doing a southern accent or at least trying some of the time. I truly didn’t know, which makes it a terrible accent. Accents are a huge nitpick with me. Like why none of these people from Boston have even a little bit of a Massachusetts accent and why only one person in all of Southport has a southern accent. No I will not count Colbie’s character because I still don’t know if she had one, I demand answers!

I wanted to like this movie. I generally think Nicholas Spark’s books and films are pretty generic. The Notebook was easily the best, maybe because it was just the first, but ever since that they just go downhill. They just refuse to veer too far from their safe pattern, and it just feels boring now. This one I really thought was going to be a little better than the rest but I was so wrong. It had potential but it’s resolution wasted a potentially decent story.

Amy’s Recommendation: 5/10

Leave a Reply

